first_imgJohn Lloyd Cruz a dashing guest at Vhong Navarro’s wedding Trending Articles PLAY LIST 00:50Trending Articles00:50Trending Articles02:25PH women’s volleyball team motivated to deliver in front of hometown crowd01:29Police teams find crossbows, bows in HK university01:35Panelo suggests discounted SEA Games tickets for students02:49Robredo: True leaders perform well despite having ‘uninspiring’ boss02:42PH underwater hockey team aims to make waves in SEA Games01:44Philippines marks anniversary of massacre with calls for justice01:19Fire erupts in Barangay Tatalon in Quezon City “We’re back to zero,” said defending MVP and team captain Mary Joy Baron in Filipino. “The past season’s title will be our motivation because we know we have to defend the championship.”“But the team will have a new composition, Michelle [Cobb] will now be our setter, so for me everything’s back to zero,” added Baron.Cobb, who is on her second year, will take on the place Fajardo, who won three Best Setter awards.Baron and the other veterans, though, promised to make it easy for Cobb to transition from a substitute to the team’s main playmaker.“They [the veterans] were very flexible towards their relationship with me,” said Cobb. “They’re adjusting and they’re always telling me that if I draw the ire of coach Ramil [De Jesus] they’ll just keep motivating me and telling me that I am part of the backbone of the team.”ADVERTISEMENT NEXT BLOCK ASIA 2.0 introduces GURUS AWARDS to recognize and reward industry influencers Beau Belga not slowing down despite trade rumors AFP official booed out of forum Slow and steady hope for near-extinct Bangladesh tortoises Head coach: Ramil De JesusLast Season: 11-3 (no.2 seed, champion)Key holdovers: Mary Joy Baron, Kianna Dy, Dawn Macandili, Desiree Cheng, Aduke OgunsanyaKey loss: Kim FajardoADVERTISEMENT Don’t miss out on the latest news and information. MOST READ De La Salle is gunning for its third straight title in the UAAP women’s volleyball championship, but such a daunting task isn’t new for the mighty Lady Spikers.The last team to successfully go on a three-peat was La Salle when the girls in green-and-white won the big trophy from Seasons 73 to 75.FEATURED STORIESSPORTSWATCH: Drones light up sky in final leg of SEA Games torch runSPORTSLillard, Anthony lead Blazers over ThunderSPORTSMalditas save PH from shutoutAnd the Lady Spikers have set their sights on a sixth championship in eight years, the most titles in an eight-year period since University of Santo Tomas won seven straight from 1985 to 1991.La Salle, however, will go into Season 80 on a new slate especially after the iconic setter Kim Fajardo graduated in 2017. 2 ‘newbie’ drug pushers fall in Lucena sting LATEST STORIES Read Next Typhoon Kammuri accelerates, gains strength en route to PH Kianna Dy, Season 78’s Finals MVP, was there for Cobb when things got too difficult for the sophomore setter.“I actually told her that her style of play is different from ate Kim’s so we don’t necessarily want her to be exactly like ate Kim,” said Dy. “She has her own strengths, her own weaknesses, ate Kim has her won strengths and her own weaknesses.”“I just tell her to do her best and that we’re all behind her and that she’s not alone,” added Dy.And with the veterans showing support for their young 18-year-old setter, another figurehead in the team is confident La sale won’t go down easily.Dawn Macandili, who was named as the 2nd Best Libero in the 2017 AVC Asian Senior Women’s Volleyball Championship, promised La Salle would be there until the very end to defend the crown.“My confidence is really high right now with this team,” said Macandili in Fiipino. “My teammates are there, my coaches are there to throw us their support no matter what so I’m really confident we’ll go a long way this year.” Globe Business launches leading cloud-enabled and hardware-agnostic conferencing platform in PH Brace for potentially devastating typhoon approaching PH – NDRRMC View commentslast_img

Leave a Comment